Uncategorized

New Release: THE ACROBAT by AGNES MOON

cover-the-acrobat-agnes

add-to-goodreads-button

 

Title: The Acrobat
Author: Agnes Moon
Translator: Kevan Houser
Series: Blood Ties #1
Release Date: February 21st 2017
Genre: Paranormal, Gay Fiction

BLURB
The Acrobat is a professional thief with dozens of burglaries to his credit, but when he finds himself trapped in the enormous abode of a mysterious man, as seductive as he is lethal, he realizes that the police might not be the worst of evils.Vincent de Saint-Bonnet is incredibly rich, with many hidden secrets, and little will to live. A foul-mouthed little thief with magnificent blue eyes is just what he needs to bring some light back to his gray, long-drawn-out existence.

A thief looking for a valuable dagger, an antique dealer with hundreds of years under his belt, for whom the weapon represents an object of . . . inestimable value. Each man has a precise goal and nothing will stop him from reaching it. Not even the incredible attraction that grips them, pulling them into a duel, one fought with lies and seduction.

EXCERPT

The sound of the key turning in the lock roused me from my semiconscious state. It was showtime. I started shaking very noticeably, making little piercing moans. It sounded so bad I even felt sorry for myself, and anyone who didn’t have a heart of stone would’ve been worried hearing me wheezing like that. I hoped our good Vincent had some—albeit deeply buried—knight-in-shining-armor instincts that might resurface when he saw how much his prisoner was suffering.

“Get up,” he ordered gruffly, not moved in the least.

“Gghhr, gghhr. . .” I started gurgling. Shit, that man had absolutely no compassion. Couldn’t he see I was dying an atrocious death?

“Don’t act like an idiot,” he bellowed. “Get up right now or your five lashes will become ten!”

What the fuck did Elias do when he had those fucking attacks?

I furiously tried to remember my epileptic friend. His eyes! Eyes rolled back and frothing at the mouth! I started spitting bubbles out of my mouth (which is exceedingly difficult when you don’t have any drool to work with), and rolling my eyes all the way back. A bit more wheezing couldn’t hurt.

“Gghhrg. . . ghhrg. . .”

Silence.

“Gghhrg. . . ghhrg. . .”

Double silence, but no more frothing due to lack of anything to froth, since nervousness had totally dried up my mouth.

I took the shaking up a notch until it looked like I’d touched a live wire with 2,000 watts flowing through it. I was starting to worry all my efforts would be for naught.

Finally I heard movement. He was approaching to investigate! My Oscar-worthy performance was working!

So sorry, my dear Leonardo Di Caprio, but you’re going home empty-handed again this year!”

I heard him mutter: “That’s all I needed—an epileptic burglar. . .” He bent over, bringing his face close to mine, and that was all I needed.

Quick as a rattlesnake I whipped out the dagger and pointed it at his throat. I heard him hold his breath, then sigh. “A thief, and a liar to boot,” he murmured, disgusted.

“Yup,” I said smugly. “And proud of it,” I added, pressing the blade against his throat. “As you can see, Mr. Five-lashes-of-the-whip, now the shoe’s on the other foot. . . or, well, in this case, the knife’s in the other hand. . .” I couldn’t resist making a smart-ass remark. Then, suddenly deadly serious, I threatened him: “I don’t want to hurt you, so I’ll kindly ask you not to make any sudden movements, otherwise I’ll do what I need to do.”

“I’ll do anything you want, but, please, I’m begging you. . . don’t kill me!” was his unexpected reply.

Well, that certainly wasn’t what I’d expected. Incredulous, I looked into his mesmerizing obsidian-black eyes. . . eyes that conveyed everything but fear.

Hmm. . . Why do I get the feeling that something just doesn’t add up here?

3teaser-2-agnes

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

