Uncategorized

#Promo: TOO CLOSE by R PHOENIX

Title: Too Close
Author: R. Phoenix
Release Date: December 30th 2016
Genre: Contemporary MM Romance

tooclosecover

add-to-goodreads-button

BLURB

Skylar Orion’s life has been complicated ever since his mother abandoned him and his sister Evie. Making ends meet seemed impossible until Tate Chandler took them in — his knight in shining armor who promised to make life about more than just surviving. But Tate is not the man he seemed to be, and even his whispered I love yous and generous gifts do little to soothe the pain he causes. Knowing he can’t give his sister all that she deserves without Tate, Skylar stays with him, relying on bad puns and a worse sense of humor to keep up the charade.

He will do anything for his sister, even if that means acting the responsible adult and going back to his old high school to meet Dexter Weston, the hot math teacher who can make even algebra interesting. Sparks fly between the two of them, but with his dependence on Tate, Skylar isn’t free to follow his heart. He wants what is best for Evie, but can he pass up the chance to find love that heals instead of harms?

Warning: This book contains scenes of domestic abuse and violence that some may find triggering to read. 

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon UK

EXCERPT

I brace myself, painting a smile onto my lips.

But Tate isn’t standing in the doorway.

Dexter is.

His eyes light up when he sees me, and my smile feels warmer, more genuine.

“I thought that was you,” he remarks. “I just wanted to say hello before I figure out where I’m going. These hallways are a maze.”

I’m torn between being thrilled to see him and terrified that Tate might show up at any second.

Dexter chuckles. While I’m still trying to unravel the mysteries of the English language, he adds, “Sorry. I know this isn’t where I’m supposed to be.”

And all I can think is, you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be.

Cheesy. Cheesier than my jokes, and that’s really saying something.

All I can manage is, “Er.”

Clever. I’m really going to impress him.

I recognize the look on his face and the twitch of his lips. I’ve seen that reaction more times than I can count after I’ve told an especially terrible pun: he’s trying not to laugh at me.

I scowl at him. “You’re enjoying this entirely too much,” I accuse him.

“No such thing,” Dexter replies promptly. When he takes a step closer to me, I realize just how close he is.

Too close.

Not close enough.

About the Author

R. Phoenix has an unhealthy fascination with contrasts: light and dark, heroes and villains, order and chaos. She believes that love can corrupt and power can redeem. Her muse is a sadomasochistic slave driver who thinks it’s terribly amusing to give her the best ideas when she just got comfortable and warm in bed, and she passes on that torture to her readers. She also tries entirely too hard to be funny, and she mercilessly inflicts her terrible sense of humor upon anyone who speaks to her. She’d love it if you’d say hello!

 
It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

