Blog Tour · review

#Tour: SOMETHING I NEED by LENA LOWE #review

SomethingINeedTourBanner-3.png

Title: Something I Need
Author: Lena Lowe
Series: xoxo Nashville, #1
Publication date: September 14th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

sin

add-to-goodreads-button

BLURB

Jonte Williamson has a dream: become Nashville’s next big star. Finding herself unexpectedly homeless hot off the plane wasn’t part of her grand plan.

Cash Bellini is a simple man: he loves his twin sister, Dolly, hates country music, and stays far away from anything more complicated than that.

When Jonte stumbles into Cash’s bar, helping out the homeless country music wannabe is the last thing on his agenda. Pity someone forgot to send the memo to his too-big heart and meddling twin. Throw in a pair of baby blue cowboy boots, a pool table and a splash of tequila, and these two are set to ignite in a hot sexy mess! Will either of their hearts survive the tug-o-war between what they want and what they need?

Purchase: Amazon

**ONLY $0.99 THROUGHOUT SEPTEMBER**

REVIEW

I have only been reading gay romances recently so Something I Need is the first novel with a male/female pairing that I have picked up in a while – and I am so glad I did! I was in that difficult position as a reader where I wanted to devour Something I Need in one sitting but also wanting to take it slow because I didn’t want the story to end!

Lena Lowe’s novel is far more than just a sweet romance; it is sexually sizzling and underneath the surface of a story about a young woman trying to find her independence and success is the deeper plot thread involving Cash and the effects of his childhood trauma.

The author handles Cash’s story beautifully; with warmth, empathy and sensitivity and we love him, even when he is being a tool and pushing Jonte away – and I so wanted them to receive the happy ending.

It is Lena Lowe’s characters who make this story so enjoyable. Apart from Cash who is hot, family-orientated and hard-working, Something I Need also introduces his twin sister, Dolly. She is meddling but caring, ditzy and fun. Although I wasn’t completely convinced by the two of them accepting Jonte, a stranger at the time, so readily into their lives, it is Jonte’s friendship with Dolly which gives the Nashville newcomer more confidence.

Jonte leaves her family in Austrailia to move to Nashville when she makes the final of American Country Star. She begins the story down-hearted and whiny, yet Jonte becomes a really interesting character as Something I Need develops. Despite the fact that I think there could have been more of a sense of her being from Austrailia in her speech, I really admired her determination, talent and selfishness – and I mean this in a good way!

Lena Lowe brings Nashville alive in Something I Need in the bars, the music, the fashion and the people. At times, when Jonte is singing in The Big Bang I felt as though I could be in the audience singing along.

Something I Need is sexy, romantic and a real pleasure to read. I was impressed to discover this was Lena Lowe’s debut novel and I cannot wait for the next installment of the series!

Rating:

giveaway

About the Author

lena-blog-tour
Lena lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three daughters. She completed a MA in Writing in 2013 and has been working on a New Adult series based in Nashville. The first book in the series, Something I Need, was a 2014 RWA Contemporary Romance Stiletto finalist in the New Adult category.

In early 2015, Lena and her family spent 5 weeks road tripping across the US. It was an amazing once in a lifetime family holiday and research for her debut series all rolled into one!

Lena is an avid reader, especially in the New Adult genre. She is a mad Colleen Hoover, Samantha Young and KA Tucker fan, and is more than a little bit in love with Becca and Krista Richie’s Addicted series, Jay Crownover’s Marked Men series and Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive series.

Links: Website | Facebook | Goodreads

buttonxbt-1

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

