Interview

MALE MONDAY: Today I interview ASHLEY JOHN :-)

male monday Ashley John is an author I only ‘discovered’ at the start of 2015. One of the most exciting things for me is that he is from the UK . . .oh, and he writes awesome stories 🙂 He is probably best known for his SURF BAY M/M romance series, which can all be read as stand-alones, although the characters overlap.

23966889 23966850 23479639   23966925

Ashley is currently editing his GEORGE & HARVEY series for re-release and has written a M/F contemporary romance, called Unlikely Love. 22822259 23587900 To date, I have only read

To date, I have only read LOST & FOUND and LOVE’S MEDICINE and both 5-star reviews have appeared on All in One Place.

Discover more about Oliver and Charlie HERE.

My thoughts on Justin and Sammie’s friendship is HERE.

WIN an ebook from Ashley John’s SURF BAY series!!!

I would like to thank Ashley John for agreeing to feature on Male Monday and answering my interview questions.

KV: Tell us 3 facts we might not already know about you.
AJ: 3 facts? Oh boy! I think I’m a pretty open person already, but I’ll give it my best shot. 1) I’m a qualified hairdresser. I studied hair dressing at college and I worked in a salon for two years, but it wasn’t for me. It was a career I jumped into because I felt like I had nothing to fall back on. Looking back, the logic of the situation escapes me, but as a 17 year old, I never imagined I’d be able to write for a living! 2) I’m a huge Doctor Who fan! I’ve been in love with Doctor Who since 2005, and I amassed a huge collection of Doctor Who merchandise when I was younger. I sold off a lot of the toys, but I still have hundreds of DVDs and books! 3) I’m a very shy person. I’m not good when it comes to meeting new people, in fact, I hate it. Me and social situations, where I don’t know people, don’t mix. If I know I have to go to a party or an event where I don’t know people, I’ll dread it right up until the day, and then I’ll spend days afterwards analyzing everything I said and did, and I’ll cringe!

KV: If your Surf Bay series was made into a film, which Hollywood actors do you see playing the main characters?
AJ: This is such a good question (and a difficult one!). I’ll go through the books in order to make it easier. For Oliver, I could imagine Zac Effron (circa High School Musical 3 and for Charlie I could imagine a late teen William Moseley (but back when he was in the Narnia films). I could totally see Matt Barr playing Porter, now that he’s a bit older, and maybe Christian Monzon playing Kane (he’s probably a little too pretty, but he’s bald, and Hollywood always miscasts!). Michael is the easiest to cast for me, because he’s Joe Manganiello through and through (the model on the cover even looks like Joe’s long lost twin). I could also see Darren Criss playing Caleb. He’s got that goofy/cute thing, which is how I see him. A younger Alex Pettyfer could play Sammie, because he’s far too buff and bearded these days (although he’s fucking gorgeous). Justin is similar to Caleb, in that he has that goofy/cute thing going on, and if I can’t double cast Darren Criss, I’ll cast Anton Yelchin, mainly because there’s something so interesting and unusual about his face. If Robin Williams was still with us, I’d totally get him to play Evelyn, Mrs. Doubtfire-esque!
surfbayactors
(so I’ve had to enlarge this picture, because . . . .YUM!)
KV: As a UK author, why did you decide to set Surf Bay in the US? AJ: It was a little bit of an unconscious
AJ: It was a little bit of an unconscious decision, because it was never going to be a series. I just had the idea of these two guys (Charlie and Oliver in Lost & Found), in a surf town setting, and it all spread from there. It felt natural to set it in the US, because surfing culture in the UK isn’t the same, and it’s not how I imagined the story. I wanted a place where the sun never stopped shining, and in the UK, we have 3 days of sun all year. It probably shows that I’m from the UK when I’m writing, so let’s pretend it’s in an alternative universe, where all of the characters are secretly British.

KV: What are your first memories of reading? AJ: I remember trying to read books, which were too long and complex for me. I’d always get really frustrated when I couldn’t understand or finish
AJ: I remember trying to read books, which were too long and complex for me. I’d always get really frustrated when I couldn’t understand or finish something, because I really wanted to. I remember reading the books at school, but they were less ‘books’ and more ‘let’s see how well you can read’. I remember finishing Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone when I was about 7, and I was really proud of myself, even though it took me about 3 months. I remember reading it again when I was a little older, and I hadn’t soaked in any of the plot, I’d just skimmed over the words I didn’t understand (which was most of them!). I once tried to read Oliver Twist and I got so frustrated, because I didn’t understand, I ripped the pages of the book out and never tried again (it was a free copy I got with a newspaper).

KV:  If you were an animal, what would you be? AJ: I’d probably be a cat, so I could nap all day. I love napping, but I’m very nocturnal when it comes to the night, so I’d love to sleep
AJ: I’d probably be a cat, so I could nap all day. I love napping, but I’m very nocturnal when it comes to the night, so I’d love to sleep around the house all day, doing nothing, so I could run around the house at night, and cause chaos (it’s not too far from how I live at the moment!).
Recently Ashley has written two blog posts which I definitely recommend you check out:
About the Author
8301734
Ashley John lives in the North of England with his fiancé Reece, and his cat Jeremy. Ashley is a lover of love and a lover of life, and that’s why he writes Romance novels. He’s a sucker for gripping love story. His characters are fighters, strong and complex, and they’ll do anything to get the happy endings they deserve (and there are usually a lot of tears and heartache along the way!). Ashley is best known for his best selling George & Harvey series and The Surf Bay Series. When Ashley isn’t writing, he uses his creativity to paint and draw, and when he’s not being creative, he’s usually taking a nap.
3 thoughts on “MALE MONDAY: Today I interview ASHLEY JOHN :-)

  1. amazing interview guys
    I absolutely love The Surf Bay Series I recently have just discovered Ashley but I will be definitely stalking U more love your writing

    Like

  2. Hi Ashley 🙂 Nice interview and thank you for a chance to win one of your books.

    I just wanted to ask where in England you found those three days of sun as I might want to go there myself when it happens so I can see what the sun is like 😀 By the way I love the cast choice, especially Michael, but who you cast as yourself? If I was to cast someone as me that would be so trick, maybe Cate Blanchette as she is such a versatile actress, although all we really have in common is our hair colour and complexion 😦

    Like

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

