review

Review: DESTROYED by KIMBERLY LOTH

23783844

Goodreads-badge-add-plus

Title: Destroyed
Author: Kimberly Loth
Series: Thorn Chronicles #2
Release Date: November 26th 2014
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Paranormal Romance

BLURB

In an ideal world, Naomi would still be living in Vegas with Ginny and Alejandro, kissing Puck whenever possible, and becoming a Guardian. But Naomi’s never lived in an ideal world. Instead, she’s stuck back in Arkansas with Father, Kai, and the Destroyers. Plus, her mother’s power lives on inside of Naomi and she has no idea how to get rid of it.
As Naomi struggles to understand the destructive power and help Kai with his role as the Master Destroyer, a new threat arises. Destroyers are killing Guardians and now all of Naomi’s friends are risk. Everyone thinks that Kai is the only one who can stop it. But Naomi knows better—she alone can end it all.
But how?

Review

I read the first Thorn Chronicles story, Kissed, at the beginning of May 2014. Considering the fact that this was 7 months before I read Destroyed and on average I have read 100 books since then, I did not have to remind myself of the characters or plot.
In Kissed, Kimberly Loth merged the paranormal with the frightening reality of Naomi’s life and the abuse she was subject to. Destroyed begins by reminding the reader of the decisions Naomi has made; she is with Puck and still a Shade. Although I enjoyed the intensity of Destroyed, for me it did not deliver as much as the prequel. Naomi is forced into a difficult situation, living with the father she has not yet forgiven and pretending she loves Kai. Yet there were times I wanted to kick her up the behind! Seriously, the love triangle drama drove me mad, “When I’m with Puck, I want Puck. When I’m with you, I want you.” GGGGRRRRRRRR! Yet, much of Destroyed is about Naomi finding her true power and choosing the side she wants to belong to, so I guess her indecision about Puck and Kai is just a reflection of this.
Naomi’s is by far the biggest character development in the novel. The persona she discovers is shocking and watching her enjoying using her destructive side is uncomfortable.
Kimberly Loth does not ignore the connection between Naomi’s story and her roses. In returning to her childhood home, Naomi has access to her greenhouse and she uses the roses there as an outlet and not just for her emotions. Also, each chapter begins with a short description about the flowers which becomes relevant to the events to follow.
Although I do not want to run around in the street whooping about Destroyed, I did enjoy how Kimberly Loth evolves the story, retaining the good versus evil plot but keeping a sense of originality. I hope that the next installment follows soon!

Rating:

 

My review of Kissed is HERE.

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

