Uncategorized

HYSTERIA by MEGAN MIRANDA Review

BLURB

Mallory’s life is falling apart. 

Her boyfriend was stabbed. He bled to death in her kitchen. Mallory was the one who stabbed him. But she can’t remember what happened that night. She only remembers the fear…

When Mallory’s parents send her away to a boarding school, she thinks she can escape the gossip and the threats. But someone, or something, has followed her. There’s the hand that touches her shoulder when she’s drifting off to sleep. A voice whispering her name. And everyone knows what happened. So when a pupil is found dead, Mallory’s name is on their lips. 

Her past can be forgotten but it’s never gone. Can Mallory live with that?

REVIEW

Rating: 5 wings
Genre: tense, couldn’t put down, review copy, new adult, favourites

When I read Hysteria’s description I wondered if the book would fulfil its hype – unfortunately I can only award Megan Miranda 5 stars but Hysteria will now be permanently sat upon my favourites bookshelf!
The story’s first-person narrator, Mallory, tells the reader her tragic tale – shifting from her present time alone at Monroe boarding school, and her recent past at home leading up to, and in the aftermath, of the murder of her boyfriend. Mallory has to deal with the ghosts of her past, her guilt over the murder and the gaps in her memory, all of which cause her nightmares.
Hysteria is an intelligent and unpredictable story. Megan Miranda guides her reader to follow Mallory on a journey which steadily grows more confused, and as the title suggests, hysterical. However, Mallory never really loses her grip on reality, although I did gasp out loud twice!!!
I felt my connection with Mallory intensify as I learnt more about her past, and particularly as she allows her walls to break down. I feel that Reid is instrumental in this process and Megan Miranda is very clever in planning their relationship.
Hysteria is tense and I have been left with unanswered questions, which I think is one of the book’s strengths.
I hope to read this book again soon and am sure it will inspire me in just the same way.
2 thoughts on “HYSTERIA by MEGAN MIRANDA Review

  1. I really enjoyed this one too! I like how it kept you guessing until the very end, I had a million in one guesses as to what was going on but none of them were right. A real page turner indeed! Great review =)

    regards,
    rowena of Votive Candles

    Like

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

