Uncategorized

Character Interview . . Alex from ‘Blue Violet’ by Abigail Owen

*******WARNING . . .this post will contain SPOILERS . . .***************

‘Blue Violet’ is definitely one of my favourite books of the year so when Abigail Owen offered me the chance to interview one of the characters from the book who else would I choose but Alex????????!

His character fascinates me . . . . he is mysterious and Abigail Owen only gives us a slight glimpse inside his head . . .but he also clearly believe in his connection to Ellie enough to risk his relationship with his family. How can a reader not fail to love him when he saves Ellie’s life in a public place by using his gifts for her then to let him think Griffin is her boyfriend????!!!
And when he confesses his love for her?? That part still makes me sob 😦 . . . . . . . but apart from the romance he is there to look after his family, the son , the brother and the healer and I am so excited to see his progression in the next book (eeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!) . .  . . . . . . . . . . .

So guys, may I introduce you to Alex . . . . . . . . . 



1. Pick one word to describe how you felt when you first saw Ellie in the school car park?

Haha. Confused. I honestly had no idea what to think. I was there to keep my family safe and suddenly this petite little thing with these incredible eyes is standing across the parking lot and I felt this odd instant connection to her. Ellie describes it best when she compares it to a scene in Jane Eyre. Mr. Rochester says that he feel like there is a string tied in the area of his left ribs connected directly to the same spot on her (or something like that – Ellie explains it better).  But I had no reason to feel the connection, no time to deal with it, and I’d promised myself long before not to pursue a human girl. They don’t live as long, so it seems like that would only lead to heartache.


2. After saving Ellie from the car accident and then Griffin walking in where did you go and what did you do?

I went for a run. It’s probably an understatement to say I was still a little keyed up. Ellie certainly gave me a lot of mixed signals to think through. And I don’t think I’ll every get over seeing her car start to slip over the edge like that. I still don’t like to even think about it. The run didn’t really help though. It just made me think of her more. 

3. How much did you admire Ellie when she was fighting the Vyusher?

My te’sorthene is something pretty darn awesome, right? But I didn’t really have time to admire that the first time, when she was under a pack of wolves being ripped to shreds. I barely had time to think. At that moment all I felt was full on panic. In that final fight though, it was like watching an artist. I will say that it’s a little tough. I was born in an era where the man protects the woman, and Ellie doesn’t really give me a ton of chances to do that. But I have to say I kinda love that about her. At the same time part of me was scared for her, scared for us. We’d only just found each other.

4. Were you scared for your family when you discovered Ellie could metamorph into a dragon?

I think that was a more minor consideration at that point. She seemed to have good control over keeping it from happening – even when I pushed her to the limit that one day. The Vyusher were a more immediate threat to my family. And, knowing Ellie even then, I was more scared that she’d deliberately use it if she felt she had to. And I was right. She did. Stubborn woman. Now that I know she can control it, I think it’s incredible. You should see her in that form. Seriously. Incredible doesn’t even cover it.

5. During the scene in Ellie’s bedroom you admit that “this isn’t exactly the most romantic setting”, so what would have been your ideal place and time to tell her you were te’sortherne?

Huh. Great question. I honestly never though I’d find mine – it’s supposed to be rare. So I never really put any thought into what I’d do. But thinking on it now… while that bond is fated and undeniable, as a good southern raised boy I would have preferred to take some time wooing her first. Make sure she knew that it wasn’t just some mystical force, but who she was that drew me to her so completely. 

6. What did you want to say to Ellie on the night you all set out to fight?

Even now I don’t have the words to describe what I was feeling. How do you explain to someone how much you care for them, how they’ve become the center of your world, and the terror that all of that might be ripped away just when you’d found that. At the same time, we were about to go into a fight, and Ellie was the key to our strategy. So wanting to protect her from it all but at the same time making sure my personal feelings didn’t distract her from the overall goal. It was an impossible situation. But I didn’t need to tell her. She could see it all. She knew exactly what I was feeling.

7. What do you expect your wedding to be like?!!!

Haha. Well  we still haven’t picked a time or place – we’re just enjoying strengthening our relationship first. So I’m getting my wooing in now. Ellie and I do seem to do things in a crazy order. I know that she wants to make sure to incorporate some traditions from both of our pasts and cultures into the ceremony. Underneath all that spunk she’s a traditional girl at heart. I’ll just sit back and let the women plan and give my opinion when asked. And maybe I’ll do a little planning of my own. Surprise her with some romantic gestures of my own.

How excited am I that I actually got to stalk one of my favourite characters!!!!
Thank you Abigail Owen :-)))))))


The Blurb from ‘Blue Violet’ (my review can be found in Older Posts)

When Ellie Aubrey leaves her only remaining family and moves to Colorado, she knows she’s risking her life. But she can’t ignore the possibility of what she might find there. What she didn’t expect to encounter was a bewildering connection to one smolderingly sexy Alex Jenner. But when Ellie’s worst nightmare comes true and threatens to destroy everything she holds dear, she must fight to save those she loves most. Even if it means sacrificing herself by revealing a terrible truth… sometimes not all monsters are make believe.

Exceptionally imaginative and magically romantic, Blue Violet delivers equal parts fantasy, romance, and suspense. You will not be able to wait for the next book in the series!
2 thoughts on “Character Interview . . Alex from ‘Blue Violet’ by Abigail Owen

It makes my day to see all your comments :-) Thanks xx

